Elisabeth Pickett Research Award Program

The Elisabeth Pickett Research Award Program makes funds available for small research grants for basic science or clinical urologic research. The awards may be used to continue or supplement a current project or to initiate new study.

Each candidate for the award must be a trained urologist (MD/DO), a urology resident/fellow, or a post-doctoral basic scientist with a research interest in urologic related diseases and dysfunction. Each candidate must also be a current member in good standing with SWIU.

The winners of the award are determined by the SWIU Research Committee on scientific merit of the proposals. Additionally, the committee considers how the project, or portions of project, can be accommodated by the amount of funding available

The winners are asked to present a brief summary of their research at the Annual Breakfast Meeting on Sunday, May 18, 2014. The winner is also invited to the Women Leaders in Urology Forum and the Networking Reception on Monday, May 19, 2014.

At the completion of the project, awardees must submit a brief project summary for review by SWIU. The summary shall include results of research in two forms: (a) technical report (b) a report in lay terms. Finally, awardees must acknowledge SWIU in any publication arising from work supported by the Elisabeth Pickett Award. SWIU asks awardees to furnish a copy of any resulting publications to SWIU.

The application deadline for the Elisabeth Pickett Research Award has passed. The winners will be notified in April.

The winner of the award is determined by the SWIU Research Committee on scientific merit of the submitted abstracts.

Click here for the Application. Application deadline has passed.

Past Recipients of the Elisabeth Pickett Research Award

Yasmin Iqbal Bootwala, MD
Una J. Lee, MD


Akanksha Mehta, MD
Anne M. Suskind, MD


Cynthia See-Ming Fok, MD
Kathleen Hwang, MD
Stacy Loeb, MD


Jennifer Taylor, MD
Mary Samplaski, MD

2008 Rose Khavari, MD
Van Anh Thi Ginger, MD
Ruthie Rebecca Su, MD
2007 Katie Nicole Ballert, MD
Aimee L. Wiltz, MD
Nadya Megan Cinman, MD

Carley Davis, MD
Hadley M. Woods, MD


Kathleen Kieran,MD


Adrienne J. Carmack, MD


Joanna K. Chon, MD


Anne-Marie Houle, MD
Sophia Drinis, MD


Anne-Marie Houle, MD


Jennifer E. Peters, MD
Karyn Schlunt-Eiber, MD
Margot S. Damaser, PhD


Karyn Schlunt Eilber, MD
Tracy Cannon-Smith, MD
Margot S. Damaser, PhD


Martha K. Terris, MD
Claire C. Yang, MD
Cathy Kim Naughton, MD
Catherine Rhu deVries, MD


Martha K. Terris, MD
Marlene Corujo, MD
Kyoko Sakamoto, MD


Larissa V. Rodriguez, MD
Jennifer MacPherson Abidari, MD
Beth Arkady Andersen, MD